Jon Batiste, H.E.R., Nas, And Chris Stapleton Added to the 2022 GRAMMY Performer Lineup

The broadcast will also include an In Memoriam segment featuring Stephen Sondheim songs performed by Cynthia Erivo, Leslie Odom Jr., Ben Platt & Rachel Zegler.
Posted on Mar 28, 2022 | 12:30pm
The Recording Academy® has expanded its lineup of performers for The 64th Annual GRAMMY Awards® with current nominees Jon Batiste,  H.E.R, Nas, and Chris Stapleton. 

This year’s leading nominee Jon Batiste received 11 nominations, including Record Of The Year (“Freedom”) and Album Of The Year (We Are). H.E.R. has eight nominations this year, including Album Of The Year (Back Of My Mind) and  Song Of The Year (“Fight For You”); Chris Stapleton has three nominations (Best Country Song for Cold.) Nas has two nods, including best rap album for King’s Disease II.

This year the GRAMMYs will feature a special In Memoriam segment, featuring songs by Stephen Sondheim performed by current nominee Leslie Odom Jr., current nominee Ben Platt, and Rachel Zegler.

Sondheim, who died in November at age 91, was the driving force behind some of Broadway’s most beloved and celebrated shows and one of the theater’s most revered and influential composer-lyricists. An eight-time Grammy winner, his song “Send in the Clowns” from A Little Night Music won the 1975 Grammy for song of the year. 

Sondheim's best-known works include A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum (1962), Company (1970), Follies (1971), A Little Night Music (1973), Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (1979), Sunday in the Park with George (1984), and Into the Woods (1987.) Film adaptations of Sondheim's work include West Side Story (1961), Gypsy (1962), A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum (1966), A Little Night Music (1977), Gypsy (1993), Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007), Into the Woods (2014), West Side Story (2021), and Merrily We Roll Along (TBD).

Zegler starred in the recent movie production of the musical drama West Side Story (for which Sondheim teamed with Leonard Bernstein to write the songs.) She won the Golden Globe Award for Best Actress–Motion Picture Comedy or Musical for the role, making her the youngest recipient to win the award at 20 years old.

Previously announced performers include Brothers Osborne, BTS, Brandi Carlile, Billie Eilish, Lil Nas X with Jack Harlow, and Olivia Rodrigo.

Watch The 64th Annual GRAMMY® Awards, hosted by Trevor Noah, live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 3 at 8 PM ET / 5 PM PT on the CBS Television Network, and available to stream live and on-demand on Paramount+.